Wednesday, February 18, 2009

A-Fraud? A-Roid? A-bad liar!

Alex Rodriguez is one of the best baseball players in the world. There is no denying that. He was before he started to use performance-enhancing drugs and he is now that he is allegedly clean.

What A-Rod isn't is a good liar, or at least a good storyteller. The Swiss cheese story he told Tuesday had too many holes still to be filled in. And because he likely didn't come clean - again - it will likely cost him more down the road.

Here are just some of the holes in A-bad liar's story, there are so many the list needs to be whittled down:

How did he get the drugs? First, A-bad liar blamed himself. Now, a cousin in the Dominican Republic is involved?

And where did the drugs come from? A week ago it was a GNC, now it was an over-the-counter drug in the Dominican smuggled into the U.S.

HUH?

Hell, a week ago A-bad liar didn't remember was he was taking. Tuesday, he magically remembered it was Primobolan, or "boli" as he called it, because he wanted an "energy boost."

Please.

The thing that gets me about all of these guys who take performance-enhancing drugs is when they play the "I didn't know exactly what it was card." Bull. These guys are some of the top athletes in the world and their bodies are their temples and, more importantly, their moneymakers. These guys ALWAYS know what they are putting into their bodies. Don't be fooled otherwise.

Funny too, that a week ago Sports Illustrated writer Selena Roberts was on a witchhunt to get Rodriguez, according to the interview with Peter Gammons. Then, two days later he apologizes and says well she wasn't exactly on a witchhunt.

If A-bad liar wanted people to believe him Tuesday and to move on from this episode, he definitely struck out.

1 comment:

  1. He's more plastic and fake now than he ever was and all he did yesterday, like you said, was offer nothing but more questions that need to be answered.

    It's sad that himself and others may think he's stepping up and facing the music but what he's doing is nothing more than a well coached cop-out by his PR team and lawyers. Does he even think for himself? He certainly doesn't act like himself. I'd at least have more respect for him if he took the defiance stance of Bonds, the indifference stance of McGwire or the No Ablo stance of Sosa.

    He is exactly the worst person that could've been propped up as the face of baseball post-testing before this little scandal began for he is nothing more than a shallow person who wants nothing more than to be liked by others and will do anything and say anything regardless of validity to do just that.

    M. Janosko

    ReplyDelete